Major contractors adopt new PQ system

Image: Dreamstime/Hanohiki

Major contractors and clients, including Balfour Beatty, Costain, HS2, Mace, Multiplex and Skanska, have all adopted a new pre-qualification system developed by Build UK and CECA, which is now fully operational.

The new system, called the Common Assessment Standard, aims to reduce the duplication of time, effort and resources that Build UK said was costing the industry up to £1bn a year.

Endorsed by the Construction Leadership Council, the Common Assessment Standard is an industry-agreed question set with two levels of certification – desktop and site-based.

Companies can apply to one of three recognised assessment bodies – Achilles, CHAS or Constructionline – to obtain the appropriate level depending on their trade, size, and requirements of their clients.

Dale Turner, director of procurement and supply chain for Skanska said: “This new, simplified pre-qualification process will reduce the burden on our supply chain, while helping to drive efficiencies and boost productivity in the sector.”

Andy Mitchell, chair of the Construction Leadership Council, added: “The CLC is delighted to endorse the Common Assessment Standard and will be encouraging its adoption throughout public and private sector procurement.” For more on the new PQ system, click here Pre-Qualification Update – March 2021 (

Story for CM? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest articles in News